News - April 1996

Eighth Annual Lambda Literary Awards nominees announced

WASHINGTON, DC -- Nominees in the Eighth Annual Lambda Literary Awards were announced March 4. The Lambda Literary Awards, affectionately known as the "Lammys," have been awarded annually since 1989 to recognize excellence in gay and lesbian writing and publishing in the U.S. The Lammys are sponsored by the Lambda Book Report, a review of lesbian and gay literature.

The nominees for the 1996 Lammys (for books published in English during 1995) are:

Passion of Alice, Stephanie Grant, Houghton Mifflin
Rat Bohemia, Sarah Schulman, Dutton
Autobiography of a Family Photo, Jacqueline Woodson, Dutton
Amnesty, Louise Blum, Alyson
Sweat, Lucy Jane Bledsoe, Seal

Dream Boy, Jim Grimsley, Algonquin
Flesh and Blood, Michael Cunningham, FSG
Father of Frankenstein, Christopher Bram, Dutton
Mysterious Skin, Scott Heim, HarperCollins
Like People in History, Felice Picano, Viking

Virtual Equality, Urvashi Vaid, Anchor
Dyke Life, Karla Jay, ed., BasicBooks
S/he, Minne Bruce Pratt, Firebrand
Tomboys, Lynn Yamaguchi and Karen Barber, Alyson
Parker and Hulme: A Lesbian View, Julie Glamuzina & Alison J. Laurie, Firebrand

Invention of Heterosexuality, Jonathan Ned Katz, Dutton
De Los Otros: Intimacy and Homosexuality Among Mexican Men, Joseph
Carrier, Columbia University
I, Pierre Seel, Deported Homosexual, Pierre Seel, BasicBooks
Virtually Normal, Andrew Sullivan, Random House
Saint=Foucault: Towards a Gay Hagiography, Daniel Halperin, Oxford University Press

Dark Fields of the Republic, Adrienne Rich, Norton
Maxfield Parrish, Eileen Myles, Black Sparrow
Oral Tradition, Jewelle Gomez, Firebrand
Fire Power, Chrystos, Press Gang
Key to Everything, Gerry Gomez Pearlberg, St. Martins

Atlantis, Mark Doty, HarperPerrenial
Cortege, Carl Philips, Graywolf
Badboy Book of Erotic Verse, David Laurents, Badboy
Scattering of Salts, James Merrill, Knopf
Burnt Offerings, Timothy Liu, Copper Canyon

Intersection of Law and Desire, J. M Redmann, Norton
Hang Dog Hustle, Elizabeth Pincus, Spinsters
Faint Praise, Ellen Hart, Seal
Someone to Watch, Jaye Maiman, Naiad
Night Songs, Penny Mickleberry, Naiad

Venus Throw, Steven Saylor, St. Martin's
Closet, R. D. Zimmerman, Dell
Shock to the System, Richard Stevenson, St. Martin's
Another Dead Teenager, Mark Richard Zubro, St. Martin's
Queer Kind of Umbrella, George Baxt, Simon & Schuster

Two or Three Things I Know for Sure, Dorothy Allison, Dutton
Aimee & Jaguar, Erica Fischer, HarperCollins
Eight Bullets, Claudia Brenner with Hannah Ashley, Firebrand
And Say Hi to Joyce, Deb Price and Joyce Murdoch, Doubleday
Babe, Susan E. Cayliff, Univ. of Illinois

Last Night on Earth, Bill T. Jones with Peggy Gillespie, Pantheon
Palimpsest, Gore Vidal, Random House
Tom: The Unknown Tennessee Williams, Lyle Leverich, Crown
Our Paris, Edmund White, Knopf
Prayers for Bobby, Leroy Aarons, HarperCollins

Afrekete, Catherine McKinley & L. Joyce Delaney, eds., Anchor
Tasting Life Twice, E.J. Levy ed., Avon
New Fuck You, Eileen Myles and Liz Kotz, eds., Semiotext(e)
Forbidden Passages, Pat Califia and Janine Fuller, Cleis
His, Robert Drake, Faber and Faber

Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage, Claude J. Summers, ed., Henry Holt
Dyke Life, Karla Jay, ed., BasicBooks
Tomboys, Lynn Yamaguchi and Karen Barber, Alyson
A Loving Testimony, Leslea Newman, Crossing Press
Out in All Directions, Lynn Witt, Sherry Thomas, and Eric Marcus, Warner

Stuck Rubber Baby, Howard Cruse, Paradox Press
Butch/Femme, MG Soares ed., Crown
Fully Exposed, Emmanuel Cooper, Routledge
Making Love Visible, Geoff Manasse and Jean Swallow, Crossing
Paris was a Woman, Andrea Weiss, HarperCollins

Butches of Madison County, Ellen Orleans, Laugh Lines
Revenge of HotHead Paisan, Diane Dimassa, Cleis
Unnatural Dykes to Watch Out For, Alison Bechdel, Firebrand
Growing Up Gay, Funny Gay Males, Hyperion
Ghost in the Closet, Mable Maney, Cleis

Wrestling with the Angel, Brian Bouldrey, Riverhead Books
Queer Spirits, Will Roscoe, Beacon
Gay Fairy Tales, Peter Cashorali, HarperCollins
Our Tribe, Nancy Wilson, HarperSanFrancisco
Freedom, Glorious Freedom, John McNeill, Beacon

Slow River, Nicola Griffith, DelRay
Dryland's End, Felice Picano, Richard Kasak
Shadow Man, Melissa Scott, Tor
Dark Angels, Pam Keesey, Cleis
Atlantis: Three Tales, Samuel Delaney, Wesleyan

Actor's Book of Gay and Lesbian Plays, Eric Lane and Nina Shengold, Penguin
Love! Valor! Compassion!, Terrence McNally, Plume
Go Fish, Guinevere Turner and Rose Troche, Penguin
T-Cells and Sympathy, Michael Kerns, Heinneman
Slavs (Thinking About the Longstanding Problems of Virtue and Happiness),
Tony Kushner, TCG

Baby Bebop, Francesca Lia Block, HarperCollins
From the Notebooks of Melanin, Jacqueline Woodson, Blue Sky Press
My Two Uncles, Judith Vinga, Albert Whitman & Co.
Passages of Pride, Kurt Chandler, Times Books
Toby's Lie, Daniel Vilmure, Simon & Schuster

New Fuck You, Eileen Myles and Liz Kotz, eds., Semiotext(e)
S/He, Minnie Bruce Pratt, Firebrand
Three-Hand Jax and Other Spells, Staszek, Permeable Press
The Medicine Burns, Adam Klein, Serpent's Tale
Milking Black Bull, Vega Press, ed., Vega Press

Each year, beginning in the Fall, hundreds of thousands of Lammy nominating ballots are distributed through gay and lesbian newspapers and magazines, bookstores, and mailing lists of publishers, authors, book reviewers, and others in the book trade, as well as by electronic transmission. After the deadline for submission of nominating ballots (mid-February), a panel of book reviewers, bookstore personnel, and industry leaders from around the United States culls the nominations down to five nominees in each category.

A separate panel of judges (not less than five judges per category, times the number of categories) then reads and scores the five finalists in each category to determine the recipients of the Lambda Literary Award. The identity of judges is kept secret (even from other judges) until the night of the Lammys banquet and all scoring and balloting is done secretly.

General information: Jeff Walsh
Design and HTML: Jase Pittman-Wells
©1996 Oasis. All Rights Reserved.