Task Force Names New Board Members

Three new members recently joined the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force board of directors. The newest members of the Task Force board are Bruce M. Abrams of San Diego, California; Jane Seville of Atlanta, Georgia; and Beth Zemsky of Minneapolis, Minnesota.

"Our new board members are an impressive and dedicated group, and we are delighted that the Task Force will be the beneficiary of so much skill, experience, and talent," said NGLTF board co-chair Jerry Clark.

Bruce M. Abrams is an attorney specializing in estate planning and non-profit development. He is also a recognized legal advocate in San Diego. His work has been honored by the Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, San Diego's gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) community center, the San Diego AIDS Foundation, and the San Diego City Council, among others.

Jane Seville, an architect in private practice, was a key player in recent efforts to get the Georgia Holocaust Commission to reinsert descriptions of the persecution of gay men in the Holocaust into a teachers' guide. Last month, Seville and five other activists met with commission members in a six hour meeting that resulted in the commission reversing its decision. Seville is a former board member of Congregation Bet Haverim, a GLBT reconstructionist synagogue in Atlanta. She is also a current board member of the non-profit arm of Charis Circle, one of the oldest feminist bookstores in the country.

Beth Zemsky is a longtime community organizer. She currently directs the GLBT Programs Office of the University of Minnesota and is a founding member of a network of GLBT campus directors. Zemsky worked at the Gay and Lesbian Community Action Council in Minnesota for four years, where she coordinated the organization's education and social service programs. In addition to her campus work, Zemsky is also a psychotherapist in private practice, specializing in issues concerning same-sex domestic violence, lesbian sexual assault survivors, and coming out.

©1998-1999 Oasis Magazine. All Rights Reserved.